New Mexico Cannabis Card Renewal Guide27 Apr, 2022New Mexico
Do you reside in New Mexico? There's good news all around for cannabis users. In April 2022, New Mexico legalized the adult use of cannabis. Residents can now enjoy both medical and adult-use cannabis without fearing contravening state laws.
So, why would you still need a medical cannabis card in light of adult-use legalization? Renewing your medical card offers many benefits. Patients enjoy zero tax on their cannabis products when holding a valid MMJ card (except when shopping at strictly adult-use stores). Additionally, you'll pay no fees for both renewals and lost cards.
Follow along to learn everything you need to know about renewing your medical card in New Mexico!
What are the Requirements?
Below are the requirements for applying for a medical marijuana renewal card in New Mexico.
You must renew your enrollment every three years.
Your program registration card expires every three years. You can renew your registration up to 60 days before the expiration date.
You must be 18 years of age or older.
If you are below 18 years, either your parent or guardian will have to approve your medical cannabis use. Additionally, you must obtain certification from two health care providers cleared to certify, one of whom needs to be a pediatrician or pediatric specialist.
You must have a valid written recommendation from your registered physician.
You need to ensure that your patient certification has not expired. If you are unsure, you can check its status by accessing your Medical Use of Marijuana Program Online System (Online System) account.
If you discover that your patient certification has expired, visit your certifying health care provider to get re-certified prior to your renewal registration. Certifying health care providers include physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners registered in the program.
You must know your password and PIN.
If you cannot remember your login information when trying to renew your registration, Go to MassCIP and then select "forgot username" or "forgot password" to reset it.
You will be required to provide the four-digit PIN received during your initial registration process.
What if you've forgotten your PIN? No need to panic. Simply contact (833) 869-6820 (Monday through Friday, 10am-3pm EST).
Update your details where necessary for any changes.
Has your name or address changed during the past three years you've had your card? It is easy to update these and any other change of details to your account.
How Much Does a New Mexico Medical Marijuana Renewal Card Cost?
There are no application or renewal fees that need to be paid to the state of New Mexico for your medical cannabis card. However, some agencies may charge you to help you facilitate the process if you choose to use one.
What Documents Do I Need to Renew my Medical Cannabis Card?
To renew your MMJ Card in New Mexico, you will need to show some identification documents as well as your old card. You should have the following documents ready and available:
- Your valid NM ID
- Medical cannabis card/s
Acceptable ID includes:
- Driver's license
- Valid US Passport
- State-produced ID card
Do I need to present my medical records?
It is not necessary to re-present your medical records for the renewal of your cannabis card. However, if you are hoping for a new assessment, you could consider providing it. Some of the records you can provide are:
- Physician's or specialist's diagnosis
- Radiology/MRI/X-ray image
- Relevant lab test results
Do caregivers need to apply for their renewals individually?
Caregiver cards also expire and need renewal. If you or your patient has a caregiver, ensure that they also renew their cannabis card.
Does New Mexico have medical cannabis reciprocity?
Yes. Starting from the 1st of July, 2020, the law allowed those with a valid medical marijuana identification card (MMIC) obtained from a different state to purchase cannabis in New Mexico from a licensed dispensary.
The process of renewing your medical card in New Mexico is relatively straightforward if you're equipped with the correct information. To ensure that you're not late in completing the application, note the expiry date as well as the date when you should begin the application process. We recommend renewing your card 30-60 days before the expiration date listed on the card.
KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN.
FOR USE ONLY BY ADULTS 21 YEARS OF AGE AND OLDER.
AGE CHECK. ARE YOU OVER 21?